Development Officers

Kate Redpath is our newest member having only joined MAP in August 2019. Kate comes from a background in Environmental Science and has worked on a voluntary basis in Community Development since 2006. She is the current chair of Tarland Development Group and Chair of  Directors of The Seed Box  social enterprise. Kate has taken over the running of the Ward Forums and has been tasked with looking at rural transport in conjunction with the community planning partership. She has been the lead on the Supporting Communities Fund. Her involvement with Cairngorms National Park continues with supporting affordable housing and the Cairngorms Nature project. She is a respected contributor to the Aberdeenshire Rural Partnership Federation. Outside of her community work she enjoys gardening as well as tending to her flock of chickens.  You can email her on

Emma Murphy joined us in May 2019 after having a career break to raise her two girls. During that time she has been bookings administrator for Logie Coldstone Trust and sits on Cromar Community Council. As a keen user of social media she has been increasing the profile of MAP across these channels. She has also created a new modern website and writes the MAP bulletins. The management of the Initiative Grant Scheme is now in her remit as is the development of local Smart Village projects. She is a keen dressmaker and likes running with friends and her Border Terrier Wilbur. You can contact her on or 07585 621549.

The Board

Chair: Simon Blackett, Braemar Community Ltd

Vice Chair: Bryan Begg, 1298 Squadron Huntly and Area Air Cadets

Treasurer: Nigel Healey, Tarland Welfare Trust

Andrew Fyfe: Mid-Deeside Community Council

George Wordie, Strathbogie Community Council

Patricia Fraser, Crathie Community

Nicola Sedgwick, Glenkindy & Towie CA, Donside Community Council

Bill Slee, Alford Community

Dave Conroy Banchory Community Council

Neil Bayfield, Tornaveen CA

Gregor Hutcheon Strathdon Community

The latest board meeting minutes can be accessed here


Marr Area Partnership was formed in 1998 by a group of volunteers to help local communities help themselves. The nature of our work has changed over time but the same broad aims apply: we seek to support communities in the Marr area to develop and grow in to thriving, successful communities with secure economic, environmental and social futures.

We are a registered charity and were set up, with the support of Aberdeenshire Council, as a rural partnership recognised by the then Scottish Executive.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter